input time: 2007-10-13 | 17:36 | you will find these words here:
>> >the Duke< <<
far across the country
sleeping in a summer guest bed
i was dreaming wishful wonders
the heat gone to my head

a walk-on part i was granted
blurry, but in reel time
stop-motion enough to see every detail
play out like the scene of a crime

there was no Cary Grant
no Humphrey Bogart
no John Wayne 
to teach me Texas hold�em

but I got a backstage nod
From the awesome Aesop Rock
And a collaborative offer
from Will Oldham

Aes made me postcards
Montages of words
And images from magazines
Appropriate and absurd

Billy was constructive;
critiqued my production
but gave props to my licks
and clever sound tricks

the Duke won�t make a comeback
he�s not playing blackjack
with Elvis and Tupac
on a desert isle

but he�s always there in reel time
just press rewind
and play the tape over again
like a dream that�ll never end.

[ up | | down ]

latest | back | forward | archives | a clear job | jacobearl.com

free web site hit counter email jacob | diaryland.com