input time: 2007-12-31 [originally composed 2007-12-29] | 18:23 | you will find these words here:
>> >lost marbles< <<
seems like a century ago
out on the school baseball diamond
we�d pick out our favourite shooters
and arrange our backups, straight lined up
sometimes we�d have a pre-round of tradesies
and make sure we had our favourites in our back pockets
this was play-for-keepsies
this was a game of hawkeye, not hock-it

we�d draw a circle in the gravel
and draw lots to see who squared off
we�d negotiate what we were playing for
and lay down the rules for the round
this was hardcore gravel gambling
out behind the public school playground
this was hardcore gravel gambling
we had the grounds

i lost my marbles
when I wasn�t paying attention
some asshole kicked them over
and yelled out �scramblies�
i wanted to scramble his brain
over and over again with my fists
but most of the players had honour
and returned the marbles to their rightful owner
i lost my marbles

seems like a century ago
out on the school baseball diamond
i lost my marbles
�cause i turned my back for a moment
i lost my marbles
seems like a century ago
with hardly a moment�s notice
i lost my marbles, i lost my marbles
I wasn�t paying attention
so i lost my marbles� i lost� i lost�  i lost my�
i wasn�t paying attention
someone kicked over my marbles
scattered across the playground
i scrambled to get my marbles
some of them were gone for good

seems like a century ago
out on the school baseball diamond

[ up | | down ]

latest | back | forward | archives | a clear job | jacobearl.com

free web site hit counter email jacob | diaryland.com