input time: 2004-09-12 | 9:38 p.m. | you will find these words here:
>> >inner voice< <<
by the time i had the mind enough
to understand a rhyme
i was trying to think of clever ways
to complete the next line

and i would second guess my best
and i would second guess the rest
and i'd still come to the same conclusion
i didn't pass the test

though i'm my own worst critic
it's more than nit-picking;
it�s amplified by some dumbwit�s
widiotic irrevision

i don't buy it...
but i can't hide it,
you keep trash talking, 
i keep feeling like smashing someone's head in

i can't hold a key
but i've held the key to my own freedom
i traded it though, for a verse
and some six string idiom

worsened by my inner voice
they didn't give me the choice

by the time i had a clear
perception of reality
the packaging of it changed
and mine didn't include batteries

i've been running on alternate
means ever since
though all my instincts tell me
to cease and desist

worsened by your inner voice
they didn't give you the choice
it was never up to you

by the time i had the mind enough
to understand a crime
i was conceiving of ways to break all ties
with all my fellow mankind

that feeling it came and went
that feeling still comes to get me
and i still come to the same conclusion
one day it will get me

though i'm my own worst critic
i'm trying to change that
'change comes from within'
it was a smart man who said that

worsened by my inner voice
i wasn't given the choice
it was never up to me

ha!  you know i don't really believe it
we take responsibility for our own dreamin�
and if we lay it on the line
it somehow makes it all the more appealing

by the time i had the mind enough to understand
you live in this world, and if i don't give a hand
then i won't get anything back in return
you get what you give and that's the way you learn

by the time that feeling came and went
i hadn't really learned, i had to learn in retrospect
and this all came out in a burst
i don't know what i was thinking but i felt like worse...

worsened by your inner voice
they didn't give you the choice
it was never up to you

[ up | | down ]

latest | back | forward | archives | a clear job | jacobearl.com

free web site hit counter email jacob | diaryland.com